Agenda (EST)

Day 1, December 14

10:00 - 10:15
Introduction and Opening Remarks
Michio Honda and Suhaib Fahmy

10:15 - 11:15
Keynote by Sophie Wilson (Broadcom)
Session Chair: Michio Honda
  • The Future of Microprocessors
    How we got to now, and what constraints there are on the future. There will be two laws, one equation, some graphs, and a particle beam weapon out of Star Trek.

    Bio: Before university Sophie designed and built systems counting translucent drops of liquid and detecting spun fibre machinery breakdowns; in her first vacation she developed a cow-feeder. She designed the Acorn System 1, coding the operating system in binary before designing and implementing Acorn Assembler, Acorn MOS and BASIC. She and Steve Furber took less than a week to design and implement the prototype of the BBC Microcomputer, winning Acorn the contract for the Computer Literacy Project. Sophie designed the operating system and designed and implemented BBC BASIC for a succession of processors. She and Furber co-designed the ARM processor powering Acorn's computers during the 1990s and virtually every mobile phone and tablet in the world nowadays – 180 billion sales of ARM powered chips to date (Aug 2021). She co-designed the ARM3, ARM610 and ARM 700 processors and ARM7500FE single chip computer. She created Acorn Replay multimedia software. By 1999, Sophie developed the Firepath SIMD LIW processor and she and six others founded Element 14 to exploit this for ADSL. Sophie led the design of the instruction set for Firepath, wrote the Architecture Guide and led the SoC designs. Broadcom bought Element 14 at the end of 2000 and went on to win the majority of the Central Office DSL business. Sophie continues to develop the Firepath processor. Sophie is a Broadcom Fellow and Distinguished Engineer, a Fellow of the Royal Society, a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, a Distinguished Fellow of the British Computer Society, a Fellow of the Women’s Engineering Society, an honorary Fellow of Selwyn College, Cambridge and an honorary Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). She has an honorary doctorate of science from Cambridge University and a CBE.

11:15 - 12:15
Session 1: Network Algorithms
Session Chair: Brent Stephens
  • Improving the Resilience of Fast Failover Routing: TREE (Tree Routing to Extend Edge disjoint paths)
    Oliver Schweiger (University of Vienna); Klaus-Tycho Foerster (TU Dortmund); Stefan Schmid (University of Vienna & TU Berlin) - Short Paper
  • Macchiato: Importing Cache Side Channels to SDNs
    Amir Sabzi (University of British Colombia); Liron Schiff (Guardicore); Kashyap Thimmaraju (Humboldt Universität zu Berlin); Andreas Blenk (Technische Universitaet Muenchen); Stefan Schmid (University of Vienna & TU Berlin) - Short Paper
  • Shortcutting Fast Failover Routes in the Data Plane
    Apoorv Shukla (Huawei Munich Research Center); Klaus-Tycho Foerster (TU Dortmund) - Short Paper

12:15 - 12:45
Break & Hallway Session

12:45 - 13:45
Session 2: Hardware Design
Session Chair: Shreejith Shanker
  • KickTree: A Recursive Algorithmic Scheme for Packet Classification with Bounded Worst-Case Performance
    Yao Xin (Peng Cheng Laboratory); Yuxi Liu (Southern University of Science and Technology); Wenjun Li (Peng Cheng Laboratory); Ruyi Yao, Yang Xu (Fudan University); Yi Wang (Southern University of Science and Technology) - Short Paper
  • Enhancements for Hardware-based IEEE802.1CB embedded in Automotive Gateway System-on-Chip
    Angela Gonzalez Mariño, Francesc Fons, Abdoul Aziz Kane (Huawei Technologies Duesseldorf Gmbh); Juan Manuel Moreno Arostegui (Technical University of Catalunya (UPC) - Short Paper
  • On Efficient Oblivious Wavelength Assignments for Programmable Wide-Area Topologies
    Thomas Fenz (University of Vienna); Klaus-Tycho Foerster (TU Dortmund); Stefan Schmid (TU Berlin, Germany & University of Vienna, Austria) - Long Paper

13:45 - 14:15
Hallway Session

Day 2, December 15

10:15 - 11:15
Session 3: Novel Frameworks
Session Chair: Lavanya Jose
  • Mahjong: A Generic Framework for Network Data Plane Verification
    Yifan Li, Chengjun Jia, Xiaohe Hu, Jun Li (Department of Automation, Tsinghua University) - Short Paper
  • A Framework for Reproducible Data Plane Performance Modeling
    Dominik Scholz, Hasanin Harkous, Sebastian Gallenmüller, Henning Stubbe, Max Helm, Benedikt Jaeger, Nemanja Deric, Endri Goshi, Zikai Zhou, Wolfgang Kellerer, Georg Carle (Technical University of Munich) - Short Paper
  • ExRec: Experimental Framework for Reconfigurable Networks Based on Off-the-Shelf Hardware
    Johannes Zerwas (Technische Universitaet Muenchen); Chen Avin (Ben Gurion University of the Negev); Stefan Schmid (University of Vienna & TU Berlin); Andreas Blenk (Technische Universitaet Muenchen) - Short Paper

11:15 - 12:15
Keynote by Steve Gribble (Google)
Session Chair: Michio Honda
  • IPUs / DPUs / SmartNICs: Open Challenges and Opportunities

12:15 - 12:45
Break & Hallway Session

12:45 - 13:45
Session 4: In-Network Systems
Session Chair: Marios Kogias
  • The Cost of Stateless Network Functions in 5G
    Umakant Kulkarni, Amit Sheoran, Sonia Fahmy (Purdue University) - Short Paper
  • No-hop: In-network Distributed Hash Tables
    Lily Hügerich (TU Berlin); Apoorv Shukla (Huawei Munich Research Center); Georgios Smaragdakis (TU Delft) - Short Paper
  • Invenio: Communication Affinity Computation for Low-Latency Microservices
    Amit Sheoran, Sonia Fahmy (Purdue University); Puneet Sharma (Hewlett Packard Labs); Navin Modi (unaffiliated) - Long Paper

13:45 - 14:15
Closing & Hallway Session